Shoot it, Sketch it – Purple Flower

The Copic Markers I was suppose to wrap & leave under my Christmas Tree – well Mum said she didn’t mind if I started using them :) So this weeks Shoot it, Sketch it I had to have a play. I wasn’t aware that with Copic Markers you can blend colours. The drawing below is my first little play with these markers inspired by the photograph I took of this pretty purple flower. I have a lot of experimenting to do in regards to learning how to blend & all the little tips & tricks of how to successfully use these pens.

Do any of you use the Copic Markers? Any tips for me? :)

Flower photo drawing

Make sure you check out the links below to see more from Shoot it, Sketch it:

* Clouds of Colour

* Anna Cull Illustration & Design

* Lunch Sketch 

* Poppytump

© The Little Leaf 2012

7 thoughts on “Shoot it, Sketch it – Purple Flower

  1. Wow Alana ! I’ve never come across a Copic Marker well I don’t think so anyhow. It’s got a brilliance all of its own your picture ;-)

    • Aww thank you :) I think there are a few tricks like – use 3 close tones of 1 colour (in this case I did have 3 purples but they were quite far apart in tone) and to use the 2nd or 3rd colour while the first 1 is still wet so they blend better. Which means you should do small areas at a time. :) I will keep playing.

  2. That is absolutely beautiful!!! I would love to play around with markers, and I’ve heard some great things about the Copic Markers, but I just can’t seem to deal with marker fumes. Great job, Alana!

    Blessings,
    Marianne

    • Thank you Marianne, Oh yes the marker fumes can be a bit strong! I never knew about the blending qualities the markers had until after I started using them. I found a You Tube tutorial on how to blend. It was great :)

Feel free to leave a comment...

