The Cotton Harlequin Bug

This my friends, is the Cotton Harlequin Bug that is found in Eastern Australia.

It is a member of the Jewel Bug family because of its bright metallic colours. The Females & Males are different colours, this being a Female & the Males being Blue/Red.

The Harlequin Bug feeds on the juices of Hibiscus flowers, so it explains why I found this one & a few more all over the Hibiscus Flowers at the Botanical Gardens.

Let me know what you think of this bug & if you have seen one! I am so intrigued by the colours of insects & bugs all around the world.

© The Little Leaf 2012

13 thoughts on “The Cotton Harlequin Bug

  1. awesome pix! The light looks so gorgeous! BTW, got my samsung galaxy note 2 yesterday. I’ve not tried it out to take many shots but the one shot I took last night, trying out a candle-lit shot, I was pretty amazed at its results. Will post that photo….

    • Thank you Stephanie! Ohh you have a Galaxy note? & Its the new one that has just come out??!!! Jealous – but really I guess we cant keep up with technology! Let me know how you go!

Feel free to leave a comment...

